How I began embracing my height 

As many of you may already know, I’m 5’9. I was always the tallest kid among my friends and classmates growing up and to date, still am. I’ve heard it all from “how’s the weather up there” to “you must play basketball”. On occasion there’d be the person who’d say they wished they had my height and that I should be grateful for it, but for the majority of my life so far, I was not. I have always been pretty self-conscious when it comes to my height. Being taller than the boys, always having to stand at the back for group photos, not being able to wear heels due to the fact that I would tower over everyone else, and the list goes on. If you are a tall girl then you know where I’m coming from.

Being tall while growing up meant that I always received comments such as “you need to stop growing” or “you’re getting too tall”. But how was I supposed to stop? I had and still have no control over my increasing height. The comments got to me, especially in my early teenage years. I didn’t want to be tall. I always felt self-conscious and every time I left the house I felt as though everyone starred at me. In reality this was probably not the case, but in the moment, that’s what it felt like. It felt like I was being judged for something that I could not control.

If you are tall girl like I am, or even a short guy, you’ve probably been told at some point in your life that your significant other shouldn’t be someone who is shorter or taller than you respectively. But why is that? Why can’t my partner be shorter than I am? We live in a society where people believe that the guy must be taller than the girl and anything other than that is “weird” or “abnormal” or simply shouldn’t occur. What does height have to do with anything? In my opinion, height is not a significant factor nor is it a deal breaker. I believe that everyone has the choice and should not be judged for being with someone who is taller or shorter than they are.

Within the last year or two I have learnt to accept my height and to embrace it. It will forever be a part of me and it is part of who I am. Now, I’m more confident leaving the house in heels and being taller than those around me. I honestly wish I had found this love for my height and accepted it at a much younger age, nevertheless, I am happy with where I am now.

If you are embarrassed or self-conscious about your height, I urge you to ignore the mean comments and to focus on your happiness. Your height is a part of who you are and besides, you’re the person who everyone will turn to notice when you walk into a room. Height is a beautiful thing and isn’t something that you should be embarrassed by. Embrace it!

And if you’re one of the people who gives tall persons a hard time and makes rude comments, I advise you to stop. What you say to them may affect them way more than you think. Sure they may laugh with you about it, but in reality, they will take those hurtful comments seriously. It will cause them to become self-conscious and to hate their height just like I did.

If you take anything from what you just read, I hope it’s that height is beautiful and that it should be embraced, not hated on.

Until next time,

-Mikayla

 

4 thoughts on “How I began embracing my height 

Add yours

  1. That was amazing, your article must touched many tall girls who probably felt/ feel the same way. Keep up the good work , hopefully it’ll will inspire others. “Stop growing, u are taller than everyone in the family, ” but joke aside you are truly amazing n i am very proud to say you are my tallest niece
    Xoxo aunty shereen

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

